"Our Vision"

To transform as an excellent public service providing government institution.

"Our Mission"

To uplift the living standard of regional community through a sustainable development process and good governance by providing excellent and productive service in accordance with state policies.
History of Seethawaka Divisional Secretariat

The Hanwella Divisional Secretary area had been governed by the Homagama Divisional Revenue Officer from it established to 1972. Later the Homagama Revenue Division was separated.

Then, there were two revenue divisions; One called the Homagama Revenue Division and the other called Hanwella Revenue Division.
The administrative affairs of the Hanwella Revenue Division were concentrated to the old building situated near the old post office in Pahathgama town.
M. S. De Silva was the first Assistant Divisional Secretary. His tenure from 1972 to 1976. The office had been shifted to the new building in 1976 situated in tranquil area of Pahathgama suburb.

In accordance with the government decisions in those era the major changes had been occurred in Local and Administrative Systems in Sri Lanka. As the outcome of those changes Mr. D. S. Kalubowila was appointed as the first Divisional Secretary of the Hanwella Divisional Secretariat.

At the beginning, 38 Grama Niladhari Divisions were included to this office. Later it had been improved to 104 Grama Niladhari Divisions. At that time the tremendous issues were occurred to administrate this large area by one Divisional Secretariat. The Padukka Divisional Secretariat was established as the result of this issue and also it consisted of 36 Grama Niladhari divisions.Then the rest of Grama Niladhari Divisions were included to Hanwella Divisional Secretariat.

In 2008 March according to the suggestion of the House and Common Facilities Minister honorable Geethanjana Gunawardena, the new name of Seethawaka Divisional Secretariat was published by the amended gazette ( No 1565/17 dated 04 th September 2008 ) by the Public Administration and Home Affairs Minister honorable Karu Jayasooriya.

Role Performed at DS Office from 1991


Name From Up to
01.  Mr. M.S.De Silva 1973 June 1976 Jan
02.  Mr. K.Arunasiri 1976 Sept 1977 Jan
03. Mr. S.Balasuriya 1977 Jan
1982 Aug
04. Mr. A.Welikanna 1982 sept 31 May 1989
05.  Mr. D.S.Kalubowila 1989 June 01 1993 Jan
06. Mr. D.W.Abeywickrama 22 Jan1993 
1994  July
07. Mr. P.A. Abeysekara August 1994 April 1998
08. Mr. A.R.Ramanayake 20 April 1998
31 Oct 2002
09. Mr. P.W.L.D.Perera 01 Nov 2002
15 May 2005
10. Mrs. D.S.Wijesekara Feb 2006 Dec 2007
11. Mrs. B.M.M.M.Basnayake Jan 2008 01  October 2008
12. Mrs. D.S.Wijesekara Oct 2008 08 July 2009
13. Mr. P.D.S.Wijerathna 14 Aug 2009 18 June 2015
14. Mr. M.M.S.K.Bandara Mapa 15 October 2015 11 April 2017
15.  Mrs. K.S.Dilhani 10 July 2017 Up to Date

News & Events

Seethawaka Pirith Chanting -2019

Seethawaka Pirith Chanting -2019


Scroll To Top